Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board

Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Reef (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Aqua forest reef salt (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=124035)

1bigfish 08-11-2017 09:05 PM

Aqua forest reef salt

Who is using aqua forest reef salt and what is your thoughts about it?

kyl 08-11-2017 09:13 PM

I switched from reef crystals, overall I'm happy:

Alk is pretty consistent between batches, hovering around 7.7-8, not the lottery that RC seemed to be. Boxes seem more readily available too, but their buckets are an odd size and the lid is kind of a pain to remove. There's also far less sludge/residue after mixing and storing it for a couple days, if that matters.

Some people are stating they've had cyano / dinoflagellate issues after switching, not entirely sure what would be causing that though.

spedly 08-11-2017 09:14 PM

I've been using it for a couple of years. I really like it.

albert_dao 08-11-2017 09:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kyl (Post 1016916)
I switched from reef crystals, overall I'm happy:

Alk is pretty consistent between batches, hovering around 7.7-8, not the lottery that RC seemed to be. Boxes seem more readily available too, but their buckets are an odd size and the lid is kind of a pain to remove. There's also far less sludge/residue after mixing and storing it for a couple days, if that matters.

Some people are stating they've had cyano / dinoflagellate issues after switching, not entirely sure what would be causing that though.

You can get cyano/dinos from trace element imbalances. I'm not saying it's endemic to the salt, but it's something that happens.

JamRobo 08-11-2017 09:44 PM

Ive switched to af reef salt and had major cyano and dino issues. 2 water changes with instant ocean and dinos / cyano is gone and my corals arnt getting smothered anymore....

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk