Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board

Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/index.php)
-   FOWLR (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Tank Setup (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=51105)

hipp77 03-28-2009 09:05 PM

Tank Setup

I was wondering if anyone else has a 125-150 gal tank that is not drilled for a sump, and does not have a overflow on it.

What are you using other than live rock and a skimmer?

Are you using a cannister filter as well

I saw one tank (150 gal) with just a skimmer and live rock.

Anyone doing this ???

Bartman1818 03-28-2009 09:49 PM

I am no expert what soever but from what I understand, you could run a complete system with only powerheads, a protein skimmer and tons of LR.

Thats what I am doing :D

And to add, a forum member told me that canister filters can only do more harm then good in the long run.

Seek828 03-29-2009 07:28 AM

I'm no expert as well
but for my current tank and my previous tanks I have always run just skimmer and liverocks
I think it works pretty well
I sometime consider an extra hang-on or canister filter only for the extra place for me to add media for the tank. (When I am not running sump)

High tide 03-29-2009 08:23 AM

True, you can make this hobby pretty much as simple and as sophisticated as you want, all depending on what you want to keep or how much of a "green thumb" you are. I would recommend having a canister filter at your disposal, or something with good flow for carbon,GFO, micron cartridge, etc. use, if you need it.

mike31154 03-29-2009 02:59 PM