Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board

Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Reef (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   biopellet flow (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=73593)

Maverick00 03-12-2011 03:12 AM

biopellet flow

so ive been running biopellets for a few months now and im happy with them, however im wondering if my pump is too weak. I have the smaller TLF reactor with around 200ml of pellets. Im using the maxijet 1200 wide open. The pellets at the surface and slightly underneath are tumbling but a good inch and a half from the bottom up are frozen still. Is it recommended that ALL the pellets should be tumbling or should this be "good enough"? i plan on adding 100ml more in the near future as well. what do you guys think?

globaldesigns 03-12-2011 04:51 AM

You need more flow.

The top should tumble aggressively, as you go towards the bottom, the tumbling should get slower, and at the bottom they should slightly move. Basically you should see the pressure build up in the bottom and see the pellets slowly flow from the bottom to the top. so it should be a slow cycle, with only the top being aggressive.

No pellets should just sit there NOT moving.

I hope this makes sense.

Bblinks 03-12-2011 05:07 AM

I concur, the pellets should be tumbling aggressively at the surface with a good amount of flow through the rest. I use rio 1400 pump(I have used many different rio pumps, they have been amazingly reliable and affordable.) the pump is rated for around 320 gallons per hour with 1 foot head pressure through a nextreef smr1 reactor. IMO that is a very good set up. I have used two little fish, nextreef mr1 with moded screens for top and bottom but I still believe a proper bio pellet reactor should be employed to get the best result. :biggrin:

Maverick00 03-12-2011 05:46 AM

makes perfect sense, Thanks guys :mrgreen:

htfn 03-12-2011 06:01 AM

Sorry to interrupt.