Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board

Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Reef (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Need opinions from the veterans (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=120065)

NanoReef 07-06-2016 04:06 AM

Need opinions from the veterans

Ok, I have been keeping reef tanks for coming up on 12 years now, my 120 gallon has been up for 11 years already! We also have a 30 gallon shallow reef that we have been running for a 3.5 years. So here is the opinions I need. We currently have radion gen 2 with a TIR lens kit on it over the shallow reef and it has been there for 3 years now. I have had incredible luck with our zoanthids, and some sps, but no luck at all with our LPS. It lives, and the color is great, but I get literally zero growth. We are in the middle of a move for the 30 gallon, so while it's all apart, I'm wondering, should I switch the light out? I have had awesome luck with metal halide, but I wouldn't want MH over this shallow tank. Like I said, the growth and color of some of our coral is unmatched while using the radion... But I am wondering if T5 is maybe a better option for more even growth of our mixed reef?

So veterans, help me out. Stick with the Radion, or make the switch to something else?

Thanks in advance

Potatohead 07-06-2016 05:43 AM

Supplement with T5's?

Reef-Geek 07-06-2016 05:55 AM

My lps grows crazily fast under radion, could it be something else other than the light?

NanoReef 07-08-2016 02:47 AM

Water changes are done out of the same tank as what my crazy growing acans are in with the MH. Parameters are great, and I can see anything that would have my sps growing great, but LPS not growing at all

Snappy 07-08-2016 03:02 AM

Are feeding the LPS? If not that may be a contributing factor.

NanoReef 07-08-2016 03:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snappy (Post 994778)
Are feeding the LPS? If not that may be a contributing factor.