PDA

View Full Version : Fauna Marin ultra power phos in a reactor


wreck
07-23-2013, 04:49 AM
I have been searching the Internet about this subject and I can't find a straight answer. Anybody use fauna Marin ultra power phos in a reactor, if so what are ur experiences with it.

I will be running it with a 2lf 150 with a Sedra sk1000 pump,

My tank is a 65 gallon with a 40 breeder sump


Any help would be appreciated thanks

PFoster
07-23-2013, 07:08 PM
Been using it for years.
What do you need to know?

My system is approx 1000g total and I run 2.5-3" in a TLF phosban 150 daisey chained to a Posban 550 reactor that is 3/4 full of carbon.
Powered by a MJ 1200, flow is restricted of course with the little ball valve from TLF that come with the reactor.

I change both media every 4 weeks.
P04 is always 0 on hanna phosphate checker.

And I get zero algae in my system at all with heavy dosing of amino acids and trace elements.

wreck
07-23-2013, 07:35 PM
thank you for the reply, what i was curious about is does a person just have it lightly tumbling? i have never ran a phos ban reactor before. also the instructions are poor . im not sure how much to put in the reactor to start with? i beleive it said 100grams per 50 gallons i think.

xenon
07-23-2013, 09:46 PM
thank you for the reply, what i was curious about is does a person just have it lightly tumbling? i have never ran a phos ban reactor before. also the instructions are poor . im not sure how much to put in the reactor to start with? i beleive it said 100grams per 50 gallons i think.

We also use it on our systems. We only run enough flow through the reactor so that the surface of the media is lightly "boiling" just like a pot of water on the stove.

The amount you use will mainly depend on your current nutrient levels IMO.

It's impossible to say X amount of media per gallon should be used because we all have different nutrient levels.

If your nutrient levels are high and you use a small amount, it will be exhausted quickly. Test your PO4 weekly and when your phosphates start to creep up, its time to swap out the media. If you want the media to last longer next run, add more. That's how I use it.

wreck
07-23-2013, 09:53 PM
awesome thank you very much for the replies!