PDA

View Full Version : Help with skimmer

geweagle
07-18-2013, 04:27 AM
hello everyone,

I am very new at this so any help would be appreciated. I have a 2-month old system. Bought this skimmer second hand. I was told it is very good. I do not know its name or have any instructions. When I started using it everything was great. The cup filled in about 1 week and was dark and smelly. I understand that is good. Now all of a sudden it is filling in 1/2 a day. The liquid is lighter and watery. Not know what changed. I am working to get PO4 down. it is at 1 ppm now. as I try things I find the outlet flow control knobs (2) on the front. I have them at max flow. If I slow them down the cup fills up with water. I tried decreasing air flow, seems like lots maybe too much bubbles. That also made the cup fill up in 1/2 hr. So I do not know what happened or waht to do. Any ideas would be great

Proteus
07-18-2013, 04:46 AM
First I would take pump apart and clean it.
I have found that certin medias such as filter floss affect skimmers. If you use try without.
Are you adding any additives to tank that may affect skimmer

IMO there's not alot of good hob skimmers. Deltec and reef octopus would be my preference.

Some more info about setup and water params may help

geweagle
07-18-2013, 05:23 AM