PDA

View Full Version : Moving 29 gal Biocube

r212019
06-27-2013, 04:10 PM
I'm moving a 29 gal Biocube this weekend and I'm looking for some advice/help. The tank currently has about 20lbs of live rock and a sand bed. There is currently no fish in the tank. If I drain the tank almost completely but leave enuf water to keep the sand sub merged, will that work? I plan to move the tank water into a bucket with the love rocks as well. When I get to my final destination, can I put the rock back in the tank and fill it back up with the saltwater in the bucket?

Another thing, I don't really plan on putting any fish in the tank for about a month, how long do I keep the lights on everyday and do I need to feed the rocks or add anything to the tank?

I'm fairly new to this so I want to do everything right. I'm in no rush to add anything to the tank, I want to make sure that the new placement of the tank doesn't cause any issues with heating and what not. Please help

r212019
06-27-2013, 04:13 PM
This is how the tank currently look

gobytron
06-27-2013, 09:25 PM
I would leave the sand in, as long as it stays wet, you should keep some of the beneficial fauna in there.

You can do as you described and just put the rock and water back into the tank, especially since you don't have any fish. If it were me, Id use 50% old and 50% new water.

you shouldnt need to feed the tank anything.
You don't have to leave the lights on at all if you have no coral or fish but leaving the lights on for the usual amount of time (8-12 hours) you might see some unexpected growth of an organism or two...

asylumdown
06-27-2013, 10:16 PM