PDA

View Full Version : Tank size/Fish compatibility

asylumdown
06-14-2013, 07:27 PM
I'm in the early stages of planning a new tank, and I wanted to see what you guys thought of these fish in the dimensions I'm planning-

Tank will be 36x36x22, so 123 total gallons (though I'll likely have 2 inches of sand).

I don't want many fish, but the two that I really hope can live in a tank this size are a powder blue tang and a copper band butterfly.

what does everyone think about those fish in a tank that size? I know people normally say 6 foot minimum for a tang like that, but I have zero experience with cubes, so I'm not sure if that gives you more options in terms of fish.

Any thoughts?

FishyFishy!
06-14-2013, 07:39 PM
36X36 is plenty of swimming room for some tangs. Gives them lots of 'circular' swimming room.

Tang Police shouldn't harp on you too bad LOL

asylumdown
06-14-2013, 07:43 PM
sweet, I'm also hoping to keep at least one expensive wrasse and my main concern is them jumping. In my early days I was given veeeeery bad advice at an LFS and told that a sohal tang would be perfectly happy in 90 gallon (this is before I knew anything), and it sort of went crazy. It made every fish in the tank jump at one point or another. I don't want a repeat experience from a cramped in PBT

The Codfather
06-14-2013, 07:50 PM
Access on three sides?
36" may be too deep if you don't have access to the sides.
Why not 48"x48"??
Or 48"x36"? Think this would be a nicer size.
Just my 2cents

Reef Pilot
06-14-2013, 07:51 PM
Tang Police shouldn't harp on you too bad LOL
But the Copperband police might...:twised:

asylumdown
06-14-2013, 07:56 PM
hehe, this tank is supposed to be smaller than my current tank! I'm going with 36x36 as a starting point because we haven't bought the house this will be going in yet and 3 foot square will fit in more spaces than 4 foot square will. If I can get a 48x48 tank when the time comes... hells yes! Also, the plan is to have access on 3 sides.