PDA

View Full Version : Hi! And where do you shop mid-island??

emeraldeyes_bc
06-09-2013, 06:23 PM
Hey everyone! I'm pretty new to all of this, I am only JUST finishing my cycle.
I started this tank for my 5 year old son who has Sensory Integration Disorder. It was suggested as a way for him to calm, and relax.
Well... I caught the bug haha it's definitely become an obsession :twised: I find myself on google, google pictures, and reading forums 24/7 :razz:

Anyway, to the point... Where on earth do I get livestock?? The couple places here in nanaimo did not seem very healthy, and really didn't have anything there anyway.... Not to mention one place gave me consistently terrible advice....

Any suggestions?? Are there good brick and mortar stores mid-island?? Or do you order from somewhere??
Like I said, I've just finished cycling, have some good diatom bloom starting and I don't even know where to find a cleanup crew! :razz:

Thanks so much! I look forward to getting to know everyone :biggrin:

daplatapus
06-09-2013, 06:29 PM
Have you been up to Clearwater ponds in Errington? They've usually got some decent livestock but careful on the advice there. They also have tanks there that run copper all the time so be careful of any of their water getting in your tank.
There's also Island pet zone in Duncan. A couple places in Comox but can't remember their names.
I've often gotten livestock from J&L and they fly it to Nanaimo via Harbour Air for $20 I think it was. SO you get it within a couple hours of coming out of their tanks.

daplatapus
06-09-2013, 06:30 PM
Oh, and WELCOME to Canreef!

Dearth
06-09-2013, 06:47 PM
Welcome aboard

Can't help you with LFS but can help you with a link that almost every SW enthusiast uses new or experienced www.liveaquaria.com sorta like the unofficial official bible on most things SW

emeraldeyes_bc
06-10-2013, 12:08 AM
Awesome! Thanks so much!

windcoast reefs
06-10-2013, 02:58 AM