PDA

View Full Version : Red Sea max 250

mikeo2
05-25-2013, 10:33 PM
I can get a good deal on a 6 month old Red Sea max 250, I'm new to this hobby and was wondering if this all in one setup is good for a beginner for a simple fish mainly with some corals down the road in a few months?

msjboy
05-25-2013, 11:56 PM
This would be beyond a starter tank... Highly recommended. However with the 6 bulbs, you m,ight need a chiller espes in summer. A beginner model would be the red sea max 130 ( 1/2 size of the 250) which is at the upper cusp of still being a nano tank.

dolphinpoint
05-26-2013, 01:07 AM
I agree..this is beyond a starter tank...however it is a great setup. I did have a 130D prior to this and enjoyed it so much I moved up to the 250. It is a hobby which requires a big commitment and a sizeable budget!

intarsiabox
05-26-2013, 02:23 AM
I can get a good deal on a 6 month old Red Sea max 250, I'm new to this hobby and was wondering if this all in one setup is good for a beginner for a simple fish mainly with some corals down the road in a few months?

This would be a great tank for a beginner or anyone else looking at this size of tank for that matter. The larger water volume over smaller tanks will give you more stability and more time to catch problems before they become disaterous. The key to any new tank big or small is patience. Let rock and sand fully cycle and use that time to research livestock that will be suited to the size of tank and compatible with one another. Avoid impulse buying of livestock as it can be a source of never ending frustration that will turn a hobby into a burden. The 250 has the capacity to give you a nice selection fish and corals as is.

Lots of friendly people on here with tons of experience willing to help you out. Good luck with your new hobby!

ashr
05-26-2013, 07:42 PM
I love my redsea max 250. I highly recommend it if you can get a good deal. I also use a chiller to make sure the temp stays around 77-80 myself.

Dempsey