PDA

View Full Version : Need Help Choosing a Lighting Solution

WarDog
05-07-2013, 03:27 AM
Hello all. I am new to saltwater and have hit a wall. I can't decide which type of lighting fixture to go with. I would really appreciate some insight. Hoping you all could vote which light you would recommend for a Salty Noob. As for planned livestock, start with softies and work my way up to SPS in a year or two. Thanks. Build journal to follow once I figure out how to photobucket pics here, Lol!

mrhasan
05-07-2013, 03:31 AM
Hello all. I am new to saltwater and have hit a wall. I can't decide which type of lighting fixture to go with. I would really appreciate some insight. Hoping you all could vote which light you would recommend for a Salty Noob. As for planned livestock, start with softies and work my way up to SPS in a year or two. Thanks. Build journal to follow once I figure out how to photobucket pics here, Lol!

Personally, I wouldn't suggest you to get high end LED fixtures yet since you plan of moving to SPS in a "year or two" which is a long time considering how LEDs technologies are changing in every six months. Or maybe you can go for fixtures like AI sol or vega (or maybe some generic chinese fixture) for now and when time comes, get a higher end fixture. Since you are going softies for now, I wouldn't put much pressure on lighting ;) Just my $0.05.

fishytime
05-07-2013, 04:05 AM
how big is the tank?

WarDog
05-07-2013, 05:15 AM
65gal, 36 x 18 with DSB... so about 19" deep.

WarDog
05-11-2013, 11:01 PM
Weekend bump... please vote!

Myka
05-12-2013, 12:42 AM
I think most newbies should start with T5s. They are reasonably priced, and you can even grow many SPS under them if you want. They are versatile too...you can use bulbs with less PAR for lower light conditions or you can use bulbs with higher PAR for corals like SPS. Most newbie friendly corals do better under lower lighting, plus algae is less of a problem.