PDA

View Full Version : Anemone

jason604
04-07-2013, 09:51 PM
Any have a bulb or retteri anemone? Or anything really pretty with nice color and size. Rbta? Please pm me with pic price and size. Thanks

Coralgurl
04-07-2013, 09:56 PM
Your tank is new right? I'd hold off on a nem for at least 6 months to let your tank settle.

jason604
04-07-2013, 10:12 PM
Your tank is new right? I'd hold off on a nem for at least 6 months to let your tank settle.

Ok thanks but is there a reason to this? Tank just finished cycling about 1-2 weeks ago =)

Coralgurl
04-07-2013, 10:46 PM
Your tank is like a baby, yes it's done it's cycle but you need all the good bacteria to become established. Right now there's just no more die off. I'm not good at the scientific stuff :lol:, but I know with some corals if you add to soon, they will just die and frustrate you. You are going to have swings in your parameters, you need to learn about keeping the tank stable for ca, mag and alk. I'm on my second tank and find the first 9 months to a year to be the most challenging, after that things seem to stabilize. This hobby is about going slow, start with easy corals, see how they do, then move into the harder ones. Learn to recognize when things are thriving and when something is "off". Add your cuc and a couple of fish to start. Let the tank get used to that bioload and add another fish.

Madreefer
04-07-2013, 11:59 PM
Good advice^^
We were all newbies once. So we all know the feeling of having a boring looking tank and the urge to get that spectacular looking tank as soon as possible. Patience is the big key here. And as much as that guy thanks he knows at the LFS don't listen to him. I'm talking those big chain pet stores that sell all pets. Support the small stores where the owner is usually a hobbyist. Get your answers on this site by using the search key. Icon answers there than send the questions out there. There's alot of helpful knowledgeable people on here.

jason604
04-08-2013, 02:40 AM