PDA

View Full Version : Id please, corals and light fixture

batmanrob
03-24-2013, 07:04 PM
I bought a complete setup. Not sure on some of the coral. Please also if you see some bad stuff let me know. I also have this extra metal halide light with blue lights on each side. What kind of fixture is this and how much is it worth?
I am interested in what the yellow pollen looking stuff is and also the green pancake thingy is.
Also note this tank was moved yesterday.

ChefFish
03-24-2013, 07:28 PM
I'm far from an expert but this is what I see. You have mushrooms, pulsing xenia, candy canes, some palys. The light is a double metal halide HQI with T5's or possibly compact florescent. What its worth depends on what brand it is and what wattage the MH's are. They are probably 150 or 250 watts. The ballasts that should be with it probably has a sticker on it with all that information. I also see a Hagen master test kit in the background. Personally I would choose a better brand for testing as they aren't overly accurate IMO. API offers a pretty cheap test kit that is more accurate.

Phil
03-24-2013, 07:32 PM
Lights a Corellife probally 2x 150 hqi and 2 comapacts

Corals I'd say last pics a ric and mushrooms.

Dearth
03-24-2013, 07:33 PM
you have pulsing Xenia and mushrooms not sure on the others....

Starry
03-24-2013, 07:36 PM
yellow pollen stuff is sponge, pancake thingy is ricordia yuma.

Tn23
03-24-2013, 07:43 PM
Its a coralife fixture, I have the same one. I am looking for an extra ballast if anyone knows where to locate one haha

Madreefer
03-24-2013, 08:03 PM
I've gone thru 3 Coralife Fixtures. The wires do not come out the side they come from the back, there does'nt look like theres any lunar light which usually come with all of them. The lens for the PC's usually go end to end. Theres no fans on the top. So I guess I dont have to say I disagree on what brand it is.

batmanrob
03-24-2013, 08:05 PM