PDA

View Full Version : New tank 1st fill

Jenner
03-15-2013, 02:50 AM
Just wondering how important using RODI water is when starting a new tank as I do not have a RODI system. I have a 55 gallon with a 25 gallon sump. Will have live rock / sand and some basic corals. I have a 14 gallon bio cube running now. Will be transferring everything from it once the new tank is stable. Only had the cube for around a year so I'm fairly new to the salt water game. Please help. I'm going to talk with the LFS tomorrow and see if they sell water.

asylumdown
03-15-2013, 02:54 AM
Do you plan on ever getting an RO/DI unit? If you don't plan on ever getting one, I personally wouldn't bother. Fill your tank with the water you plan on maintaining it with. Buying pre-made salt water for a 55 gallon is going to get expensive, tedious, and time consuming, so if that's not something you plan on doing on an ongoing basis, don't bother now. A few months after the tank is up and running you'll have replaced it's entire volume probably a couple of times so starting with RO/DI won't matter in the long run.

If you are in the process of getting an RO/DI unit, or you do plan on buying pre-made salt water long term, then by all means, do it for your first fill.

There are some amazing tap water tanks out there, but I will say an RO unit was the best investment I ever made. Sometimes I wonder why my tank is getting it instead of me (we still drink tap)

gregzz4
03-15-2013, 02:57 AM
Have you ever tested the TDS of your tap water ?
Maybe your LFS could test it for you

Do you have any on-going algae issues in your 14g ?
If not, you're probably OK without RO or RO/DI, but I prefer to use a system for my water, even though my tap water is only 8ppm

Even if your TDS is lower than ( for example ) 100 in your area, what exactly are you getting 100 parts of ??? Arsenic, copper, sulpher ... there's all kinds of stuff in city water

Just my 5 cents

asylumdown
03-15-2013, 03:01 AM