PDA

View Full Version : Ro/di blues

Evilweevil
03-13-2013, 12:36 AM
So have had the tank running awhile been using the aqua fx barracuda ro/di unit it has been running at about 25 - 27 psi since I hooked it up ... Yes I know it's low anyway I just bought a dual tds meter ( which for how cheap they are I should have bought one right away doh!!) anyway the tds is reading 220 in and even higher out ? Wtf ? Yes I could have the things the wrong way ( they say IN and OUT very clearly though ) no matter it is still out to lunch not sure what steps to take

Tank is looking good very small amount of hair algae and diatoms (brownish kinda algae that grows on the sand appears and disappears with the lights and feeds on silicates I believe?) which I think maybe becoming from my water woes

I am a newbie so feel free to correct me on anything I say here lol which I am sure no one has a problem with

My first reaction was to go out and replace all the filters which I bought all but the di filter from Home Depot which I am going to return anyway ,then I went online priced out all good quality replacment filters new DI new RO carbon block and prefilter , along with a booster pump and back flush valve which brings me to over 200.00$ , would I be better off just going and buying a unit like the vertex aquaristic for 320$ http://www.jlaquatics.com/product/vt-ro100di/Vertex+Puratek+Reverse+Osmosis+Deionization+(RO+DI )+Filter+-+100GPD.html any noughts on this or ideas ?

Any help would be appreciated

hillegom
03-13-2013, 01:05 AM
It must be hooked up wrong if its new and has higher tds out than in.
Did you flush and throw away the first 5 gals of water?

Pics would help us to see how you have it hooked up

27 psi is low pressure is that your incoming pressure? RO/DI needs at least 60 psi to function properly

Mike-fish
03-13-2013, 01:08 AM