PDA

View Full Version : Zoanthid care

Cubeman
03-02-2013, 07:34 PM
In the past I have added zoas to my sps/lps tanks and they have usually withered away to nothing, although I will admit I didn't give them any specific care. The sps grew fantastically though in the same tanks. I have now started a nano tank and would like to add some zoas.

Can anyone provide me with their proven zoa care routine so I get off on the right foot and have more success. I am not a newbie and had my first saltwater tank in the late 70's so don't need 'aquarium basics' advice - looking more for placement, feeding, current, lighting etc...and anything I should avoid adding that would eat/damage them.

thanks in advance

Madmak
03-02-2013, 10:20 PM
I have almost the exact opposite luck. My SPS corals die and zoas flourish all over their dead skeletons within a few days!

I would think that if you have good success with SPS that you may have too much light or flow for zoas or maybe not enough food or nutrients.

Mine seem to prefer being on the sand without direct flow and with plenty if food to grab daily.

Denny or Levi should chime in and school us all on the zoa tricks.

denny_CC
03-02-2013, 10:24 PM
In the past I have added zoas to my sps/lps tanks and they have usually withered away to nothing, although I will admit I didn't give them any specific care. The sps grew fantastically though in the same tanks. I have now started a nano tank and would like to add some zoas.

Can anyone provide me with their proven zoa care routine so I get off on the right foot and have more success. I am not a newbie and had my first saltwater tank in the late 70's so don't need 'aquarium basics' advice - looking more for placement, feeding, current, lighting etc...and anything I should avoid adding that would eat/damage them.

thanks in advance

not a whole lot of advice to offer but what you may already know , low phos and steady parameters.

light acclimation is very important.