PDA

View Full Version : Best place in calgary for saltwater livestock???

clegault
02-09-2013, 10:58 PM
Hello i am new to saltwater and currently have a 35 gallon tank with 35lbs of live rock and 2 clowns, a hermit crab and a couple of snails. I was just wondering what stores are the best in Calgary for livestock.
thank you very much

Madmak
02-10-2013, 06:00 AM
That's a tough question...

All the fish stores can have fair to good livestock at times and really bad at other times. There is no way to know unless you stop in often and see for yourself.

The best fish IMO come from other hobbyist's tanks. You still have to be able to recognize a healthy fish and a sick one.

IME Pisces and Big Al's have the largest selection but their health can be all over the place. The smaller stores generally have less fish but more knowledge and healthier livestock.

I don't really favor or avoid any store. I do try to look around and be picky with my choices. But as I said before, the best fish or corals come from other reefers.

clegault
02-10-2013, 03:02 PM
thank you, are there alot of smaller stores. I really one know of golds, wais and riverfront. ??

Coralgurl
02-10-2013, 04:09 PM
Golds, WAIS, ocean creations, concept, Pisces, big al's. I've never been to riverfront. I think a key part is getting to know the staff. Most are really helpful, you just need to do your research before you go to know what will work in your system.

Welcome to canreef!

magikof7
02-10-2013, 04:22 PM
Concept Aquatics, Ocean creations are 2 good places. I find the big stores to be expensive for corals and if you really look at the tanks they are not the best kept.

Watch out for those telling you things are rare. Buy it because you like it or you won't have a long love affair with your tank. It will lead to problems and neglect and honestly you wont last long in the Hobby. :)