PDA

View Full Version : What sort of algae is this?

mrhasan
02-09-2013, 12:40 AM
Well I believe this was introduced in my tank through some frags and is now out competing my chaeto. I also have a remora skimmer 24/7 but produce very dark skimmate only like half the cup over a week.

Its mainly growing in patches on my substrate and some noticeable patches at the back of the tank. Nothing I would call an algae breakout but well, its there!

I was thinking of using algae x to get ride of it.

P.S. My nutrients are, I would say, under control and has been undetectable by API; before and after this algae.

http://i1304.photobucket.com/albums/s522/mrhasan1/2013-02-08182524_zps20340ff6.jpg

Advice please :)

Ian
02-09-2013, 01:09 AM
I'm not an expert but I do know that one issue with testing your water is that the algae itself can use up the nutrients which then gives you a reading that seems "fine". if the algae is growing winnning vs your skimmer and cheato you have to be providing it with food to allow this. Without fixing that you will continue to have an algae issue .

Looks like a hair algae to me. Hand pick as much as you can, pluck it from the rocks and "vacume it up when you do your water changes also. Find and eliminjate the source of the nutrients its using. Do more water changes but be sure your R/O is not in need of a filter change.

don.ald
02-09-2013, 01:11 AM
Looks like bryopsis
Is it fern like?
https://www.google.ca/search?q=bryopsis&hl=en&client=safari&sa=X&tbo=u&tbm=isch&source=univ&ei=CLIVUYykOsTniwLKkIEY&ved=0CC0QsAQ&biw=1024&bih=672

mrhasan
02-09-2013, 01:13 AM
I'm not an expert but I do know that one issue with testing your water is that the algae itself can use up the nutrients which then gives you a reading that seems "fine". if the algae is growing winnning vs your skimmer and cheato you have to be providing it with food to allow this. Without fixing that you will continue to have an algae issue .