PDA

View Full Version : Star fish

Dearth
02-06-2013, 03:39 AM
I am looking at maybe getting a star fish this spring but not sure what the best type to get for my tank a 33 gallon. I have heard even reef safe starfish might decide to eat fish at that reside on the bottom and some that are not considered reef safe end up being reef safe so I'm a little confused.

What are the best choices for a nano reef?

What are your opinions on star fish are they worth it or endless cause for worry?

How sensitive are they to salinity/temperature changes?

Any info is much lay appreciated thank you

Madmak
02-06-2013, 03:48 AM
With that size of tank almost any starfish is tricky. They need a lot of space to find the types of food and detritus they need to thrive. I'm no expert but I think you would have issues with a chocolate chip, blue, or any ornamental type but a sand sifter or brittle star might do better. The latter are more functional as well.

I do have a few in a 200G but they take some spot feeding to ensure they aren't competing for every meal.

Some more research should reveal the answers to your other questions, don't rely on the LFS too much on this subject.

Good luck with the search.

chromakey
02-06-2013, 03:52 AM
Hi:

I just purchased a red star fish for my 28 Gallon JBJ Nano. He is quite active but how do you know if he is getting enough to eat? How would you spot feed him?

Thanks,

Madmak
02-06-2013, 04:06 AM
That's part of the issue, a starfish can look fine one day and literally disintegrate the next, that's how they die. Kinda weird actually.

Spot feeding is pretty easy, just move him on top of some recently fed food. Mine prefer krill and larger shrimp type foods.

Baldy
02-06-2013, 05:02 AM