PDA

View Full Version : Can anyone tell me what these green things are?

RPatsula
01-30-2013, 02:31 PM
I noticed this a couple of weeks ago. These green bulbs are about 3 or 4 mm in diameter. Also is this mushroom in bad shape. Is my tank lighting too intence.

thanks
rick
http://i1296.photobucket.com/albums/ag18/Rick_Patsula/greenstuff_zps9b402957-1_zpseecea488.jpg

http://i1296.photobucket.com/albums/ag18/Rick_Patsula/healthymushroom_zps6f6717ed.jpg

Aquattro
01-30-2013, 02:34 PM
Green stuff is bubble algae. Your mushroom isn't a mushroom, and yes, it's in bad shape.

AquaPin
01-30-2013, 02:35 PM
The green stuff looks like bubble algae (Valonia)...not good stuff to have, if you google it there is plenty of info on how to deal with it.

Hard to say about too much light as we would need more info size of tank, type of lighting, etc...how long has the tank been setup for?

Jason

RPatsula
01-30-2013, 02:55 PM
Thanks for the information on the bubble algae. I'm new to the saltwater hobby so please excuss me if I do not know what type of coral I purchased. So the pink one is a brain coral I think.
My tank setup is as follows. It has been up and running for about 8 months. It is 230 gallons. The lighting is 4 radions with 2 mp40's and 2 mp10's. The sump is approximatly 100 gallons. I do about a 35 gallon water change every week. Do you need any other information.

Thanks for your help
Rick

Proteus
01-30-2013, 03:00 PM
Emerald crabs will take care of small bubble algae. But if I see it I still pick it out without bursting it

BlueWorldAquatic
01-30-2013, 03:09 PM
Bubble algae, pick it out and toss it, do not break it in your tank as its spores will spread. You can also use an emeralt crab, but they are not 100% effective.

I am more concerned with the bubbles in your sandbed, and the diatom growth. Definately symptoms of too much light

waynemah
01-30-2013, 03:37 PM