PDA

View Full Version : Radion led and usb cable


NanoCat
12-31-2012, 12:50 AM
So I have always been programing my Radion with my Mac Book pro and never had any issues with the usb cable being so short. That was until I accidetly poured a whole cup of coffee into the back of my laptop which fried it. Guess I need a new computer but until then all I have is an old desktop and it is now where near my tank. Has anyone used a usb extension for this. Not sure if the signal will be strong enough once I reach my comp. about 50-60 feet away.

I found one one tiger direct
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=690727&CatId=444

Any other solutions to this.

Thanks

wolf_bluejay
12-31-2012, 05:22 AM
So I have always been programing my Radion with my Mac Book pro and never had any issues with the usb cable being so short. That was until I accidetly poured a whole cup of coffee into the back of my laptop which fried it. Guess I need a new computer but until then all I have is an old desktop and it is now where near my tank. Has anyone used a usb extension for this. Not sure if the signal will be strong enough once I reach my comp. about 50-60 feet away.

I found one one tiger direct
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=690727&CatId=444

Any other solutions to this.

Thanks


I do a LOT of long USB runs at work, the ones that are just a long USB cord with a bit of "active bootsing" just don't work well for the long runs.


What we do end up using is a USB over cat5 connector. Not the same as what we get, but the smae idea (we buy most through a large wholesale supply, so I don't shop for these regularly).

http://ncix.com/products/?sku=47841


However, all you need is a long cat5 (cat6 STP is better) and you can go up to about 200ft with it. The longest that I have run with these is about 100ft, and that is also powering the device at the other end. As they use a balanced single for the digital rather than just boosting the USB, they do work much better, cheaper and more flexible as you just use the length needed. In most of the setups that we do, the cat6 is just run in the wall with a nice wall plate. So you could even run the cat6 to someplace using a wall plate, put the adapter on when you plug in. Nice and clean setup, and you can even use the extender in other places if you need it as the cable can stay in place :)

NanoCat
12-31-2012, 06:58 PM
Thanks for the answer. I will look into getting one of those instead.