PDA

View Full Version : Is air pump necessary?


Cory
12-02-2012, 09:33 PM
I have recently set up 55 Gal with 40 gal sump. Should I run an air pump in the display tank? Tank has been running for 2 months water test are good. Any thoughts?

Aquattro
12-02-2012, 09:37 PM
No. Unless you have no other source of agitating the water surface. But you ideally have a skimmer which will do all you need. Especially if it's going to a sump. If not, then make sure the power heads move the water surface. You simply want to off gas the CO2. An airstone would also add tremendously to salt creep.

Cory
12-02-2012, 11:02 PM
Thanks Brad. Just want to make sure I don't miss something basic as I start to add more fish etc.