PDA

View Full Version : Nano tank basics

Dearth
11-08-2012, 07:02 AM
Hello all,

Just wanted to post a quick basic not quite tutorial about nano salt water aquariums I will deal with nano only because its what I know and larger tanks require different setups and equipment. I am by no means an expert nor am I very knowledgable however there are many people on this forum who are and there are many helpful links in the reference library at the bottom of the forum page. The following may not apply or be fully correct but will do the best I can and take no offense if I am corrected. I fully recommend looking through the links provided on the forum and asking on the forum if your not sure about what to do or get.

First off let me say that having a SW aquarium is a joy and it is very appeasing and appealing to look at moreso than looking at fresh water setups IMO.

Once you have decided to get a nano aquarium (nano aquariums are considered generally to be 40 gallons and smaller) the very first thing to do is to talk to your spouse, BF/GF, roommate or commonlaw and explain what you want to get and the approx. costs involved always plan for more than you expect to spend which can run up to $2-3000 for a nano system nothing worse than not having their understanding or co-operation. Next is size of tank and what you want in said tank (FOWLER-fish only with live rock) or a reef tank (Has rock/coral/fish and/or reef custodians) where you want to place tank is also a factor and will the floor your putting the tank support the load a fully loaded 40 gallon can weigh in excess of 375 lbs. It is best to place tank in a shaded corner away from direct sunlight but if not possible buy dark curtains or place a filtered window cover over the windows that will most likely affect the tank for brightness.