PDA

View Full Version : skimmer problems

Calgarynewtankguy
11-07-2012, 02:57 PM
This is my first SW tank i just got everything up and running and fired up my skimmer (Red Sea c-skim 1200, that i bought used) and it is very noisy and wont produce bubbles at all. I have tried changing both the water flow and played with the air adjustments and nothing seems to work. I have never used one before but it sounds like a bad bearing to me but I know this are magnetic pumps so i am unsure.

any help would be appreciated.

FishyFishy!
11-07-2012, 03:03 PM
Take the pump apart, clean it and put it all back together. Then take the pump out of the skimmer, submerge it under water, plug it in and see what happens. If the impeller isn't turning, I find that sometimes you have to bring it above the water, then dunk it back in to start them up. No idea why, but I've had a few pumps like this.

scubadawg
11-07-2012, 03:03 PM
It takes time for a skimmer to start skimming since you need a bioload in there first

Yung

FishyFishy!
11-07-2012, 03:09 PM
It takes time for a skimmer to start skimming since you need a bioload in there first

Yung

Yes, but there should be little noise, and it still should produce bubbles.

Calgarynewtankguy
11-07-2012, 03:19 PM
I took the pump off and submerged to see what it was doing and it was really not doing anything at all, so i pulled it right out and removed the impeller shaft. I am new to these, so correct me if I am wrong, but isn't the impeller supposed to turn with the shaft?? the shaft in the centre spins but the impeller does not.

Delphinus
11-07-2012, 03:24 PM