PDA

View Full Version : Newbie stocking question

RenHoek104
09-16-2012, 08:20 PM
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the saltwater keeping hobby and I have a few questions about possible stocking.

I currently have a 33 gallon DT and a 10 gallon sump setup. I have a small refugium within the sump and 2 other compartments. I'm using a CS50 overflow (CPR), an Eheim Compact+ 2000 return pump, 2 Hydor Evo 750s and an Eshopps PSK-100H skimmer. I have live rock and base rock (over 50 lbs total) and I used live sand (20 lbs of Ocean Direct and about 17 lbs of Arag Alive, 3 lbs in the refugium). So far so good.

I have a fire shrimp, 7 red hermit crabs, 3 astrea snails, a few zoas and mushes (corals) and a pair of blue gudgeon dartfish. The dartfish were a "love at first sight" buy, which is bad I know, but they drew me in with their blue.

Originally I wanted a pair of clowns, but I'm not sure if the gudgeons will be safe with them in the tank? Considering the clowns territorial behaviour and the gudgeons laid back and hide behaviour. What do you think? Has anyone kept these two species in such a small tank harmoniously?

Apart from that, I was also looking for a bicolor angel and perhaps a royal gramma. I'd also like a goby/shrimp combo, but I'm not too worried about them and the gudgeons. I was also thinking of firefish (dartfish), but once again I have no fear with them and the gudgeons considering they are from the same family.

Since I'm new, I'm looking on thoughts of what else I could possibly keep? So many fishes yet so little tank space (for now :D).

Thanks and I'm hoping to share some of my stories with you...so far I have a few.

Ren

Myka
09-16-2012, 08:52 PM
Good on you for asking before purchasing (unlike the impulse buy of the Gudgeons)! ;)