PDA

View Full Version : Total Noob Question: Phosphate

Enigma
08-29-2012, 09:51 PM
Being that I know the API phosphate test is garbage, and I've got bacteria and algae issues, I decided to pick up the Hanna phosphate checker.

0.02 ppm

I understand that falls within the acceptable range (probably because all of the phosphate is being used up by the algae and bacteria), but that seems high. I was hoping to see lower.

I run a ROWAphos fluid reactor. Is the measurement I've gotten an indication that it is time to replace the ROWAphos? Is 0.02 ppm really okay, or is this something needs needs remedied?

reefwars
08-29-2012, 09:55 PM
are you testing directly from the output of your reactor??

should read close to zero from there if its any higher i would replace it:)

rowaphos only holds so much phosphates so if the system is heavy it will need to be chaned frequently, once it sucks it all up you can use less and change it less.

im changing out mine about every 2 mths or less:)

reefwars
08-29-2012, 09:56 PM
.2 is def acceptable but remember it doesnt include whats being used up from algae or cyano:)

Enigma
08-29-2012, 10:03 PM
I haven't changed my ROWAphos in longer than two months. Actually, it may be closer to four. :o

I'll test what is coming out of the reactor.

reefwars
08-29-2012, 10:05 PM
I haven't changed my ROWAphos in longer than two months. Actually, it may be closer to four. :o

I'll test what is coming out of the reactor.

well you have a small tank too, but yeah id get that changed out. i usually change my gfo when film algae gets to growing on the glass.

test the reactor its the easiest way to see how good your gfo is, if its the same as display then change it out:)

reefwars
08-29-2012, 10:06 PM
good thing about rowa is it doesnt leach the phosphates back to your tank once its filled like other brands do:)

Enigma
08-29-2012, 10:13 PM
Hmm. 0.01 ppm out of the reactor. Is it possible to see 0 out of it?