PDA

View Full Version : Tuxedo urchin question

daplatapus
07-24-2012, 02:32 PM
So I'm having a terrible time controlling some algae. Not sure where it came from probably from my live rock or a frag that came in. I've been running a BRS GFO reactor for over 6 months with their high capacity GFO with no results other than killing off my chaeto. I think tuxedo urchin's are very cool and heard they really like all types of algae. Will a tuxedo urchin help in the control of dictyota algae?
My tank is just a couple months shy of 1 year old, and has been rock stable for the entire time. 77 gal DT (full reef, spa, lps and softies) with 80 gal sump and a remote 20 gal cube. Approx 150 gal total water volume. For live stock:
1 flame angel
1 Yellow eye Kole tang
2 occelaris clowns
2 schooling banner fish (rescues from a friends moving disaster)
1 starry blenny
1 sand sifting starfish
1 purple fire fish
1 green mandarin
1 2spot blenny
misc snails and hermits

MKLKT
07-24-2012, 03:20 PM
You should try to find the source of the nutrients that are feeding that algae, starving it is going to be the most effective long-term solution, otherwise you might have it crop up again in the future. I wouldn't be surprised if the tuxedo ate some of the algae; however, I have a hard time seeing it keep up if the tank is as large as it sounds.

fishytime
07-24-2012, 03:23 PM
ew, dictyota is a bad one......I had it for a spell.....I doubt an urchin will eat it.....the only critter I know of that eats it for sure are naso tangs.....I wouldnt recommend one long term for your size of tank, but if you were to find a small one and are will to go through the effort of getting it out of the tank later, then it might be worth a try.....

you could also try elevating your magnesium levels.....

daplatapus
07-24-2012, 08:11 PM
Hmmm, Naso tang.... I'm trying to get the wife to approve a 180..... :)