PDA

View Full Version : Help Curing Brown Algae / Diatom Bloom?

mandyplo
07-22-2012, 03:18 AM
I'm new to reefing, my tank has been up and running for almost a year now. It is a 55gallon with 60 lbs rock all added gradually, 2 blue chromis, a yellow watchmen goby, various snails/hermit crabs, long spine urchin, a maldives sea star, an arrow crab, pipe organ frag and a digitata frag. As you can see, not a whole lot in livestock... We feed our chromis' brine shrimp (frozen) twice a day, half a cube in the morning half a cube in the evening.

I have 2 Kessil A350 LED's on for 10 hours a day.
The Octopus BH-1000 Skimmer
2 Koralia 1250 gph power heads.
A filter running 24/7 with a carbon and foam insert.

Any suggestions on how to get rid of this brown algae, its gotten pretty bad.... Its on everything, the sand bed, the rock, the power heads, the crabs... :(
And how can I prevent it from re occuring?

I do not use RO/DI water, I use water from the tap and I treat it as my LFS has told me to... who knows if he gave me the right info, but I use a PH buffer and de-chlorinater. And salt when my salinity is low.

I have test kits but I haven't done any tests in about 2 weeks, when I get a chance I can post my parameters on this thread if it makes a difference/helps you guys to help me.

Thats another thing, right now the salinity is at 1.028 and I cannot seem to lower it, do you guys suggest a large/partial water change?... I've just been doing small 10% changes but it hasn't changed the salinity one bit.

I have no idea where to start in getting rid of this algae... its seems to be a pretty vague type of treatment... nothing to really nip it in the bud. Am I correct or is there something I can do to rid of it easily?

gregzz4
07-22-2012, 03:50 AM
A few things come to mind;
Have your LFS test both your tapwater and your tank water for PO4
If you get tank readings for it, but none from your tap, cut back on the live food a bit ( do you rinse it ? )