PDA

View Full Version : About to buy some powerheads, and I would like some advice for a 55g.

Xyres
07-10-2012, 06:05 AM
So I am very new to the hobby and being only 20 cash it in short supply but dispite that I am putting a lot of money into this tank. It is a 55g that I am planning to have fish in, some corals and some anemones, the last two will be later on down the road. So with all that info my next question is this:

Would I be better off with one mp40 or two Tunze 6045? Is the different setting for the flow really that important? Is it worth spending the 300~ plus difference to get one pump? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

ScubaSteve
07-10-2012, 06:21 AM
Well, first question is: what live stock are you planning on keeping (in terms of corals)?

Tunze and Vortechs are on opposite ends of the spectrum in terms of flow philosophy: tunze creates, more or less, strong laminar flow that can reach the opposite side of the tank where Vortechs create a wide turbulent field. Personally, I prefer the Vortechs not only for the flow patterns but for the overall product design and low profile.

Xyres
07-10-2012, 06:23 AM
Honestly I have no idea. Like i said I am still rather new to this so I am really just looking to get my tank started on a strong foot right now. I don't want to do something in the future and be hindered by a past purchase that wasn't what I needed.

gregzz4
07-10-2012, 06:30 AM
Personally, I prefer the Vortechs not only for the flow patterns but for the overall product design and low profile.
+1 for their vast programming modes / features, and easy to clean wet sides vs a whole power head removal / cleaning
Noisy if you have them turned up higher, although some don't care

I run Vortechs

Tunze have there benefits too, so hopefully others will chime in here

ScubaSteve
07-10-2012, 06:45 AM