PDA

View Full Version : Looking for LED layout opinions

daplatapus
06-26-2012, 02:26 PM
I've just received my heatsink and LED's in the mail and I'm looking for opinions on layout. I know this is a bit overkill for my 20 gal cube but I'm testing out for my full reef 80 at the same time. I have these LED's now, so while debates amongst my choices are welcome, there's not a lot I can do about it now :) I'm really looking for placement opinions on my heatsink.

Legend:
RB = 3W Cree XT-E Royal Blue 455nm
TV = 3W Exotic True Violet 395nm-430nm
3UP = 3 LED star, 3W per LED, 1 Cree XP-G Neutral White, 2 Cree XT-E Royal blue
OCW = Exotic Ocean Coral White

http://i1177.photobucket.com/albums/x353/daplatapus/LEDlayoutphoto.jpg

thanks for the input.

mseepman
06-26-2012, 03:07 PM
This looks okay to me...though I have no experience with the OCW led and so you may find that it creates a large white color band in the areas where it's directly above. TV led's put out almost no color so they will be completely invisible to your eyes where they are.

Are you using any lenses on any of these? If not, you might find it's okay because they usually have 120 degree spread, but if you do use lenses, you may find some separation.

sphelps
06-26-2012, 03:09 PM
I'd simplify things a little, your layout looks pretty uneven which may produce uneven spread and color. I would stick with a cluster style, similar to what most better fixtures and pendants use. I'd also take out the extra RBs, since the 3UPs have a 2-1 ratio already and the OCW are mostly blue and cyan if I'm not mistaken.

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a174/sphelps/LEDlayout-1.jpg

daplatapus
06-26-2012, 04:49 PM
It's been a while since I originally planned this out, but I beleive a bunch of those single RB's were for moon lighting.

sphelps
06-26-2012, 05:20 PM
It's been a while since I originally planned this out, but I beleive a bunch of those single RB's were for moon lighting.