PDA

View Full Version : Help with Starting a Biocube 8

Leach29
06-14-2012, 02:09 PM
Hi everyone, I have just aquired a Oceanic BioCube 8 gallon.

I'm looking for any advice on what to do? what not to do?
I have read that I should upgrade to a Hydor-flo for the return nozzel? and get a media rack ? does anyone have any of these for sale?

Any suggestions are welcomed.

This is my first time with something this small, and I am planning on having some softies in there as well.

Thank you

Ginu
06-14-2012, 07:40 PM
Hi everyone, I have just aquired a Oceanic BioCube 8 gallon.

I'm looking for any advice on what to do? what not to do?
I have read that I should upgrade to a Hydor-flo for the return nozzel? and get a media rack ? does anyone have any of these for sale?

Any suggestions are welcomed.

This is my first time with something this small, and I am planning on having some softies in there as well.

Thank you

The best way to start in this hobby is by reading, and when I say reading I mean never stop reading... and when you think you've read enough I would really strongly suggest going back to reading some more....
Second tip - start slow and take your time and never rush, let the tank cycle with live sand and live rock and add things slowly and don't overstock
I suggest searching for some Biocube 8 threads on Google and see what people have done and how they started the tank and what kind of issues they ran into. The Nano thread has some ideas, however I find its not superpopulated.
And in a tank that size I suggest keeping on top of water changes and dont skip out a week without changing 10-20% of the water and make sure you use RO/Di water to minimize any issues down the road.