PDA

View Full Version : Purple Bonzai Acropora?

Snaz
06-06-2012, 02:59 AM
Does anyone have any experience with this coral or similar that can offer tips or suggestions? I am considering a purchase but I am new to sps.
Thank you.
Keith

MarkoD
06-06-2012, 03:13 AM
Does anyone have any experience with this coral or similar that can offer tips or suggestions? I am considering a purchase but I am new to sps.
Thank you.
Keith

i've got it and it grows like crazy for me. i dont do anything special

daplatapus
06-06-2012, 04:30 AM
I have one in my tank but I've never had great polyp extension on it. I have a feeling I've got it too close to the MH's, but it's not bleaching so I've just left it where it was. It's growing pretty good, it's just I don't see the polyps like I've seen in other people's photo's. If I had to give any advice it would be to pay particular attention to the lighting conditions of it's tank where you're going to purchase it. Depending on what lighting system you're running, you may need to take care to acclimate it properly to your lighting.

Rice Reef
06-06-2012, 04:53 AM
Under good lighting and water parameters it should do well.

Snaz
06-06-2012, 04:58 AM
Thanks all, good advice and will do.
Keith

reefermadness
06-06-2012, 05:12 AM
I've had 3 or more versions of bonsia/tri-colour acros......I find they are medium light lovers.....in relation to a brightly lit SPS tank. Also they dont like being moved around and often take quite a while to colour up and stabilize when moved.

Nano
06-06-2012, 05:14 AM
Thanks for posting this snaz I recently picked up a frag and was wondering about it myself. I'm starting to se som PE today so this is good

ScubaSteve
06-06-2012, 06:25 AM
I grew a colony of it on my sand bed from a skin flap in a matter of months. Grows like a monster.

Derek14
06-06-2012, 12:40 PM