PDA

View Full Version : Raising dKH in 12g Nano

Snaz
05-18-2012, 12:30 AM
I bought and tested for the first time a dKh test kit. My 12g nano is at 5.1 dKH so it needs to come up a couple of points.

I have zero experience with dKH but I know it must be raised slowly. My tank is display and three compartments behind a false wall, no sump.

Corals looks ok, sps is new to me(six weeks) and while there is PE the growth on two pieces is rather slow or no growth. How best to raise this please? Any hazards?

Reefie
05-18-2012, 01:09 AM
What brand of Alk Test Kit did you buy? There are a few unreliable kits out there. I use either the Hanna Colorimeter or the ELOS kit.

From what I've learned you have to raise Alk very VERY slowly. Do it through Water Changes weekly. The alternative is to drip small amounts daily and slowly bring Alk up throughout a week or so.

Did you test your new Saltwater before WC's?

Snaz
05-18-2012, 02:38 AM
What brand of Alk Test Kit did you buy? There are a few unreliable kits out there. I use either the Hanna Colorimeter or the ELOS kit.

From what I've learned you have to raise Alk very VERY slowly. Do it through Water Changes weekly. The alternative is to drip small amounts daily and slowly bring Alk up throughout a week or so.

Did you test your new Saltwater before WC's?

I am using the Salifert titration kit. There is a test mixture of dKH 6.1 which I am able to test exactly too so I trust my method is good. I do weekly 10% water changes with Instant Ocean. I am due for a water change in a few days so I will test the fresh mix then.

Snaz
05-18-2012, 07:04 AM
I am using the Salifert titration kit. There is a test mixture of dKH 6.1 which I am able to test exactly too so I trust my method is good. I do weekly 10% water changes with Instant Ocean. I am due for a water change in a few days so I will test the fresh mix then.

http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/store/reef-calculator