PDA

View Full Version : Vit C dosing

Proteus
05-12-2012, 01:29 PM
Can someone explain vit c dosing and the pros/cons of doing so

Nano
05-12-2012, 02:40 PM
I'm still learning about it myself, I am dosing it for my Zoas, and general health of the coral. i have talked to a lot of people on a few forums, as well as done some reading online, and its hard to find any cons about it. there always are though, so if some one is aware they could cover that part :P
Lets see some pros
My tank crashed about 6-8weeks ago, and everything was melting and just looking terrible, a few people told me to use vitamin c to help perk things up again. I was told its a form of carbon dosing.

after a few days of dosing i started to notice a dramatic improvement in my corals that were once melting, the had begun to come back in full force, some even stronger the before! now since the crash I have continued dosing a small amount daily, and my zoas are growing like never before, and the color is much better.
Heres a con
I read online that vitamin c doesn't bind well with water, so its tough to mix it in, so i just mix it in to my top up water once a day, and top up manually with it.
another con (I read online)
vitamin c doesn't stay effective for more then 8 hours due to its sensitivity to UV light, so daily dosing is needed to see full results from it..

Again, this is just what I have read, i have no idea whether or not it is factual. Don't quote me on it lol. but I'm sure there are a few others that can chime in with some more (reputable) info

i use ascorbic acid crystalline powder, vitamin c in a pure form, with no fillers colors etc. i got it from the pharmacy, about 8oz for $10

Proteus
05-12-2012, 03:19 PM
I have been tryin to read up but there Alot of conflict.
I use prodibio so I am not sure if using it would be bad as its said to be a form. Of carbon dosing
Also read that Sodium Ascorbate powder. Is buffered to nutrel so not to affect ph

ashr
05-12-2012, 03:55 PM