PDA

View Full Version : Moving everything into different tank

canadianbudz604
04-23-2012, 02:53 AM
I have a 10g nano but I want to move everything out of it and into my 20g. Am I going to get a cycle? What are the steps for this or is there anything special I need to do? How do I get about removing the sand or is it smarter just to put all new live sand? Also because I only have 10lbs of live Rock how do I go about adding base rock? Any tips and help is appreciated. Btw my nano is 3 months old

gregzz4
04-23-2012, 04:06 AM
I have a 10g nano but I want to move everything out of it and into my 20g. Am I going to get a cycle? What are the steps for this or is there anything special I need to do? How do I get about removing the sand or is it smarter just to put all new live sand? Also because I only have 10lbs of live Rock how do I go about adding base rock? Any tips and help is appreciated. Btw my nano is 3 months old
I'm pretty new to all this but I've read lots :smile:
First, to follow my suggestions, you'll need, at least, a second heater and a powerhead.
You shouldn't get a cycle as long as the rock goes directly from tank to tank and the parameters match very well. If you transfer the sand without washing it, you may get a cycle, or even a crash. ( read below about this ).
To avoid a cycle, get your new tank ready with the base rock you want, or cycle it with more live rock ( before the change over ).
Make sure the params between the 2 tanks match ie; SG, Temp, pH, before your final transfer of live anything.
You can re-use the sand or buy new, or add new to what you have. Either way, if you re-use it, your safest bet is to siphon it all out and thoroughly wash it. This will virtually guarantee against any die-off due to a cycle/crash. Your tank isn't that mature yet, so you could transfer the sand, but it's risky, especially if it's more than an inch or so deep.

fishytime
04-23-2012, 04:34 AM