PDA

View Full Version : Ok so I'm new to salt water

Phil
04-16-2012, 12:44 AM
So I got a new 75 gallon tank and 35 gallon sump and has been running for about 10 days I tested my water today and ammonia and nitrate all read 0 everything else's reads normal. I have about 80 lbs of live rock and sand in it. Does this mean it's safe to get a cleaning crew or a fish or two?

gregzz4
04-16-2012, 12:50 AM
As long as your Nitrates don't go above say 5ppm you're safe to add a small cleanup crew. If you don't already have algae, you could wait until some starts to appear. Up to you.
Wait weeks while testing before adding your first fish, and the same goes for the next fish and so on. Many say to wait a month between.

HaZRaTTy
04-16-2012, 02:06 AM
So I got a new 75 gallon tank and 35 gallon sump and has been running for about 10 days I tested my water today and ammonia and nitrate all read 0 everything else's reads normal. I have about 80 lbs of live rock and sand in it. Does this mean it's safe to get a cleaning crew or a fish or two?

If all your LR = was actually Live rock from another reefers tank and transferred acutely and properly you might not even see a cycle, or you could go through a "Mini Cycle"

Have you seen any swing in Nitrite,Nitrate and Ammonia levels through the days? Diatoms start, stop, disappear?

I would say that there would be no problem adding a CUC.

Proteus
04-16-2012, 02:29 AM
Prodibio has a product called startup. It's said after treatment you can add 20% of your complete bio load.

I used it while changing tanks. While I still saved 100 gallons if water from existing tank I added all my fish and all my coral within a week. Only lost one fish.

daplatapus
04-16-2012, 02:44 AM