PDA

View Full Version : Led lights for a 90g

Semaka
04-14-2012, 03:30 AM
so I am in the process of building a 90g reef tank. Just placed an order on a 48/18/24 main with a 40g sump.
Now my main dilemma is lighting.
I would like to go with LEDs. My budget is around 1500 but if I can bring it down it would allow for a nice controller :P.
I have narrowed it down to two options (don't be shy to suggest some other thing): 3 module Mazarra P series (the whole set would be 1534) and the other one is the Sunbrite F series (48 in long for 1099).
From the technical specs the sunbrites use older generation 5w XPG cool whites with XPE for the other channels. While the Mazarra use XMLs with some XPGs. Now bearing in mind that I'm a complete newb when it comes to saltwater aquariums/lighting are the Mazarras worth 400$ extra?.... would the sunbrites impede coral growth or limit my options as far as coral species go?

Which would you pick? do you have better options? point them out. Sry if there's a LED thread on these lights and I missed it.

Nano
04-14-2012, 03:32 AM
welcome to canreef, have you thought of DIY Leds?

Snaz
04-14-2012, 03:39 AM
DIY will save you tons of money and you well get the exact combination of emitters you want.
http://www.aquastyleonline.com This is where I bought mine. Love em.

isaac1
04-14-2012, 03:44 AM
Not sure your location but if ur in or around edmonton i suggest going to red coral sea i beleave its called off fort road the owner showed me led set ups a bit pricey but defently has the best led displays and set up in edmonton

Semaka
04-14-2012, 03:48 AM