PDA

View Full Version : WTB: Chiller for JBJ Nano 28 HQI in Calgary

ruslicus
03-24-2012, 04:33 AM
Hi

I am fairly new in hobby and just got my new JBJ Nano 28g HQI and my tempreture fluctuates from 84F with MH on down to 78 with MH off. I think the only one solution to keep it constant will be a chiller. So I am looking for a chiller in Calgary area. Anyone has extra or wants to upgrade his please let me know. Thx.

Ginu
03-24-2012, 04:39 AM
Hi

I am fairly new in hobby and just got my new JBJ Nano 28g HQI and my tempreture fluctuates from 84F with MH on down to 78 with MH off. I think the only one solution to keep it constant will be a chiller. So I am looking for a chiller in Calgary area. Anyone has extra or wants to upgrade his please let me know. Thx.

Chiller is a good way and best to keep the temp down, however until you get a chiller I strongly suggest leaving the feeding door open and possibly run a fan above water. You will get quite a bit more evaporation but the temp won't raise that high.

It did it for me until ingot my chiller. Good luck.

ruslicus
03-24-2012, 04:52 AM
Thank you for your advise. I am cycling the tank yet so have some time until I get one. But don't want to have much evaporation and modify much the hood. I don't get why JBJ will not think about tempreture issue for HQI model, it is just beyond me to spend half the price on chiller.

Ginu
03-24-2012, 05:15 AM
Ya I hear ya... I think all in one cubes running lights which produce a bit of heat will run into heat issues. I found out that there is a huge diff if you remove the heat from in between water and splash guard. I run a chiller and still get about 1 to 1.5g of water evaporating on a 34g AIO cube running 14k mhi, so i always have that clean ro/di water in the stand. Next purchase for me is a ato unit.

It's either go led, run a chiller or tons of fans which will get ya evaporation, however I think every tank should have a auto top off system.

ruslicus
03-26-2012, 01:18 AM
bump