PDA

View Full Version : RTN or hopefully something else HELP

bling_bling466
03-15-2012, 01:29 AM
Well I picked up a nice tabling acro and it looked good for 2 weeks then this morning I noticed a little tissue loss. Then got home from work and noticed more the half gone. So I removed it and got a couple nice frag witch are now on the frag tray I wasn't able to get pics because I tossed it lol. The question is when I picked up the coral he cut the colony in half throw some water in and gave it to me. I'm kinda new to sps and was wondering if this is just stress or related to how he fragged it. Would it still be RTN and is it contagious. If so what are my next steps

FragIt Dan
03-15-2012, 02:14 AM
RTN itself is not contagious, but is an indicator of stress. The source of that stress may be system wide (ie low Ca or red bugs) or local (too much or too little light or water flow in the location for that coral). The fact that it was fragged likely has less to do with it than other sources of stress it has been subjected to in your tank. You have not really given enough info to head you in the right direction for finding the cause... do you test your water? Do you have other sps that are doing ok? Was it RTNing under high light/ water flow? The fact that it survived 2 weeks leads me to believe it is something to do with your tank more than anything.

bling_bling466
03-15-2012, 02:30 AM