PDA

View Full Version : Kalk and CA reactor

whaase
03-03-2004, 01:06 AM
Ok, I'm going to ask a dredded question. I don't understand what the difference is between Dripping kalk (or kalk reactor) and a calcium reactor? I've read over old threads and it seems as if 2 give you the same end result... higher calcium. If there is a thread that explains this better please direct me to it! :lol: Otherwise, please explain. :smile:

Thanks, Walter

BCOrchidGuy
03-03-2004, 01:56 AM
Walter, the way I understand it is that a Ca reactor does a better job of increasing and maintaining calcium in a high demand situation but kalk does a better job of maintaining Alk. If you've got softies etc no hard coral and not a large demand for calcium a kalk reactor should meet your needs. I'm no expert though so I'm hoping that I understand the relationship/differences.

Doug

StirCrazy
03-03-2004, 02:36 AM
a couple other points, a Ca reactor uses low PH to dissolve media so it has the ability to slightly lower your tank PH. Also it replaces a broad range of minerals which are released from the media as it dissolved. So it replaces more than just Ca.

A kalk reactor can increase your PH and is a much simpler unit. Kalk also can precipitate phosphate out of solution but I am now undecided as to weather this is a good thing or not.

I use a kalk reactor myself right now only because I broke my Ca reactor in the move.. when I build a new one I will be running both again.

Steve

whaase
03-03-2004, 02:43 AM
Thanks for the reply's, I think I know which way I'll go!

Walter

BCOrchidGuy
03-03-2004, 03:12 AM
Steve, I read somewhere that a tiny bit, (in trace form) phosphates can be good, is this why you're now undecided? I understand that if it's to much phosphate it can hurt your SPS growth.

Doug

StirCrazy
03-03-2004, 03:32 AM