PDA

View Full Version : How to shoot through curved glass

Ginu
02-21-2012, 07:39 PM
Hey guys, I have a simple question in regards to how to shoot through curved glass...

I have a euro aqua 34g tank which has the front of the tank curved and have a really tough time getting anything in focus from the front...
For camera equipment I have the following:
Nikon D90 - gripped
Tripod/monopod
18-200 AFS
70-300 VR
50mm 1.8 AF
28-70 AF
SB 600

I'd like to add that I'm not a beginner in photography, been shooting for years, however I hit a wall with this curved glass...

Any tips on how to shoot in order to help with the focus? I am eventually going to get a macro lens f2.8 60mm VR or f2.8 105mm VR however that's down the road as I don't have a single macro lens.

Thanks in advance

SeaHorse_Fanatic
02-21-2012, 09:27 PM
I don't think there is an easy fix for this.

When I was doing my post-graduate work at UBC, we developed underwater camera technology for fish farms but we had to use a SuperVHS (30 frames per second), custom computer program and a lot of work on each image using a grid overlay to flatten out an image since the camera housing lens was bowed. If the image looks strange to your naked eye through curved glass, the camera will probably not be able to rectify that, as far as I know.

sphelps
02-21-2012, 09:32 PM
Build a camera box and take pics through the top.

You could also try a larger macro lens and taking pictures from further away. Not sure but I think the curved glass effect is worse the closer the lens is to the actual glass, if stepping back helps then a larger macro is the answer.

Ginu
02-21-2012, 09:32 PM
Well I figured its either something I cant figure out, or I'm doing something wrong.

The curved glass does project the image a little distorted or perhaps magnified but by any mean it does not look out of focus, however with the DSLR it doesn't matter if I let the camera to do the metering or i do it fully manual because its always out of focus...