PDA

View Full Version : 20g newbie

newbie2
02-20-2012, 03:43 AM
Hello all,

Just thought I would introduce myself. I am new to saltwater but have three 90g freshwater tanks with cichlids (GT, oscar, and a planted geo setup). A week ago I decided to take the plunge after lurking on many saltwater sites and use my spare 20g to do it.

I am thinking of ending up geared mostly towards softies and maybe some LPS in the long run. Right now I am a week into my cycle with my 20g running with an AC30, and 2 radion 425's. Have about 20lbs liverock and livesand in the tank at the moment. I am basically spending all my time on the internet searching a million different things, running around in circles. haha.

Really, the last straw to switching a tank to saltwater was visiting my insurance company in Ponoka and seeing the awesome saltwater tank setup there (turns out its Ponokareefers tank - told you I was lurking. haha)

Just debating lighting. Kind of like the Maxspect Mezzaro LED's. Anyone have these on a "nano" size tank?

Also, If I keep the tank lightly stocked - right now thinking a clownfish, royal gramma, and maybe a barnacle blenny - do I need a protein skimmer? I was thinking of eventually building an AC70 refugium but will start running out of space if I need this and a skimmer.

Anyways, just saying hello and I love the site!

Nano
02-20-2012, 03:47 AM
welcome to canreef :)
nice to see some one else jumping on the LED bandwagon!

troni
02-20-2012, 04:26 AM
Welcome! I'm pretty new myself, and from what I've seen your other 90s will become salt soon enough. I also have a 20g, just a heads up after your cycle is done you will get brown algae break out and some green hair algae I've read is normal.

There's a lot of debate over skimming a small tank. If you can I would. First thing i'd suggest is a sump. It'll hide everything plus you can put in a refuge aswell. Looks a lot cleaner.

newbie2
02-21-2012, 06:56 AM
Thanks for the welcome!!