PDA

View Full Version : Picked up some frags, and got lots of hitchhikers...What are these?

pollywog
02-15-2012, 08:50 PM
I grabbed some zoas the other day, which came with baby shrimp, 4 brittle stars (that I can see), some green little worm thing that just slides between the zoas and hides, but there are two things in particular that I am most curious about.

The first I do not have a picture of, as I disturbed a lot of the sand doing landscaping/water change, but it appeared this morning inbetween some zoas. It is a long clearish worm looking thing, 3" in length, anchored with tail moving quite a lot and flowing in the water, with brilliant red hairs along its length, opposed from one another as if they are legs. As a complete newbie moron, I got worried about it being a weird type of bristle worm and tried to pluck it out with pliers. It split and two pieces got caught in the current from the powerheads. I can't see them now, but when I could see one it was squirming quite violently. What the hell is it?

The second specimen should be easier to identify. A baby starfish, but I do not recognize its colouring, and whether it will be reef safe or not. It looks green with a rust-red center.

Image here: http://i.imgur.com/N281Q.jpg

Any wisdom would be greatly appreciated.

Chowder
02-15-2012, 09:06 PM
The worm with red hairs sounds like a bristle worm and the star fish is a Asterina starfish.

Chris

pollywog
02-15-2012, 09:10 PM
The worm with red hairs sounds like a bristle worm and the star fish is a Asterina starfish.

Chris

Thank you so much! After you said that, I looked up pictures of younger bristleworms, and they look identical. I'll get rid of it if it hasn't been eaten or died yet.

paddyob
02-15-2012, 09:19 PM
Bristle worms won't hurt anything. Scavengers. Eat waste food move detritus.

Leave them.

Chowder
02-15-2012, 09:21 PM