PDA

View Full Version : Controller Question

intarsiabox
12-29-2011, 07:36 PM
There is a similar thread out there but I didn't want to hijack it, so here's what I'm looking for suggestions on. I would like to get a controller but I've never used one before. My lights are LED and already have their own controller and I'm looking at upgrading my pumps to Tunze nano streams withe the USB controller as well. I'd like to be able to control temperature and see my PH level at any time. Not sure what else I'd use a controller for or any idea what controller to go with. Any ideas?

reefgirl189
12-29-2011, 08:09 PM
There is a similar thread out there but I didn't want to hijack it, so here's what I'm looking for suggestions on. I would like to get a controller but I've never used one before. My lights are LED and already have their own controller and I'm looking at upgrading my pumps to Tunze nano streams withe the USB controller as well. I'd like to be able to control temperature and see my PH level at any time. Not sure what else I'd use a controller for or any idea what controller to go with. Any ideas?

Oh the things a controller can do are almost endless...

Just for the lights:

- Gradually brighten or dim your lights to simulate sunrise and sunset so as not to blast your tank with a sudden bright light first thing in the morning or go into sudden blackness last thing at night.
- Simulate cloudy skies or lightning storms using the lights.
- Turn certain lights on and certain ones off at whichever times you "tell" it to. Great for power consumption or to simulate peak daylight times with your MH's while your T5 are doing the sunrise sunset.
- Most importantly: It can turn off lights in the event of the temperature going to high (safety measure that most of your $15 hardware store light timers can't do for example), or turn on fans to cool the lights before it needs to turn them off at all.