PDA

View Full Version : Newbie to sw

Kimmi7
12-29-2011, 03:04 AM
So I have this empty 77 gallon that I want to make in to a reef tank. I have been reading up and am aware of what it's going to cost to start up. So like all newbies I will be picking your brains for any and all information. Now I am a newbie to sw but not fish keeping. As is I have 4 running tanks. Two have freshwater shrimp, one has freshwater crayfish and a lonely crab. My fav has 13 angels all different kinds and sits in livingroom. So here's my ideas for the tank.

I want a brightly coloured reef tank with just as brightly coloured fish and such.

I know to have corals of each kind you need great lighting. So question number one: t5 ho's do they work for sw?
Question two: I am doing a sump as it seems the best way to go. Now Where do I drill the holes on the tank? Best places to do

Feel free to add any information or links that you have tht could help a newbie out!!!!!

Madreefer
12-29-2011, 04:11 AM
Lots of people use T5's with great success.

Hard to answer your second question without knowing specifics. I'm sure if you put up a pic of the tank and sump to be drilled, than some of those that are good at those drawings with computers will be willing to help. You came to the right place for help. Lots of helpful and knowledgable people here.

lpsreefer
12-29-2011, 04:25 AM
You don't need to drill the tank. To have an overflow. You can make one from PVC. If you YouTube "saltwater DIY overflows" there's a lot of videos of it and how to drill for what type of overflow.

T5 Hos are fine.

Welcome to saltwater!

Kimmi7
12-29-2011, 04:29 AM