PDA

View Full Version : Changing sand bed...

moppy
12-18-2011, 07:19 PM
Is there a need to change your sand bed every so often? Just curious as I've never done it but my nitrates have been slowly creeping up...

The Grizz
12-18-2011, 07:25 PM
I am no expert on sand beds but I think if it's a deep sand bed it could cause nitrates to climb if it being disturbed by a fish. I think I have read where some people clean there sand bed once in a while with one of those gravel vac's when doing a WC.

Please someone correct me if I'm wrong, would like to know this too.

Myka
12-18-2011, 07:51 PM
On shallow sand beds I like to gravel vac them on every water change. On "true" deep sand beds, as in done properly, the sand bed should not be disturbed (that includes digging fish). Personally, I like to replace the sand bed every 2-4 years. It can be removed, bleached, then dried out (this will off-gas the bleach). Then I "cook" it like with live rock, basically just letting it sit in a bucket of RO water giving it a stir once a day, then draining the water every couple days. This will leech off the phosphate. Then the sand can be used and will be better than new. :)

phyto4life
12-18-2011, 08:38 PM
I vacuum the top 1/4 inch only when it is visibly dirty.

other then that I add a lot of cerith and large nassarius snails

Whiskey
12-18-2011, 11:59 PM
Have you seen a reduction in the number of inverts in your tank? Could the climbing nitrates be to the attrition of inverts and the decrease in associated cleanup?

I got the tank and stand out of the basement; lights are down from the ceiling. The tank isn't cleaned yet but if you get some time, give me a shout and we can get it over to your place.

Cal_stir
12-19-2011, 01:33 AM