PDA

View Full Version : Question about changing MH ballast

Casey8
12-09-2011, 01:12 AM
I am wondering how often do you need to change your MH ballast, or do you use it forever ? I have a ballast that I have been using for over 3 years now, do I need to change it like we change bulbs, maybe not as often as bulbs. How can you tell if it is too old and when to get a new one ? Boxing day is coming soon, I think I'd better ask now so I can add it on my list.

Maverick00
12-09-2011, 03:11 AM
im not sure if the performance of the ballast decreases with time or not? I didnt think it did but i suppose having a backup on hand if you can get one for a good deal wouldnt hurt. Im assuming most people run a ballast until they kick the bucket or upgrade.

lastlight
12-09-2011, 03:14 AM
Use them until they die I've never heard anything to indicate they lose potency. When they do die you either get a replacement if you can find one (electronic is easy) or if you're faced with no other options you downgrade to one of the other many types of lighting out there such as LED.

mike31154
12-09-2011, 03:26 AM
Is your MH ballast electronic or good old magnetic coil & capacitor? If it's older type magnetic, the capacitor will generally be the weak link & age as time goes by. Pretty easy to tell usually, since your lamp won't fire or takes longer than usual. In most cases the capacitor itself is easily replaced & ballast good as new again. Coil or transformer is pretty bullet proof. New electronic MH ballasts are sealed units & not repairable. They will simply die at some point & the whole thing is trash.

Casey8
12-09-2011, 03:34 AM
Thanks for your input, you guys ... I am happy to know that I don't need to buy a new ballast, I can save a hundred dollars to spend on something else. Mine is an electronic one, so I think I am safe for a long time.

isaac1
12-09-2011, 03:39 AM