PDA

View Full Version : can someone teach me lol.

Nano
11-25-2011, 02:45 PM
Hey guys, still no sign of any ich in my clown all though I'm sure he is still carrying. I am setting up a quarentine for adding any future fish to the tank I am going barebottom with a few lbs of LR. My question is hyposalinity, how do I do it? What's considered a good level for hypo and how should I go about acclimating the fish to it? Obviously I've never done this before so I'd like a bit of help. Since I'm only adding nano sized fish I have just got a 10 gallon that I've been waiting to set up for this.

Leah
11-25-2011, 02:55 PM
Saltwaterseahorse anyone?

Nano
11-25-2011, 03:00 PM
? Huh?

Aquattro
11-25-2011, 03:29 PM
? Huh?

Leah obviously hasn't had her morning coffee yet....

Myka
11-25-2011, 03:45 PM
A quarantine tank shouldn't have live rock in it. Just a heater, small powerhead pointed at the surface for good gas exchange, and some pieces of PVC for them to hide in. You can use black or white PVC, just the fittings or some pieces of pipe. Use at least 50% water from an established tank to fill the QT, and add a seasoned filter pad from the established tank as well. I like to use a SeaChem Ammonia Alert which works very well and lasts a year. I use AmQuel to detoxify ammonia when needed. Most ammonia test kits are not compatible with ammonia detoxifiers, but the Ammonia Alert is. You don't need a light on it, but you should have a lid of some sort because new and sick fish startle easily and are prone to jumping out.

For hyposalinity you HAVE TO use a refractometer to measure salinity as you need to be very accurate. Here is an ok link the hypo...wish I could find a better one: http://www.aquariacentral.com/forums/showthread.php?144242-A-general-guide-to-Hyposalinity

Blom
11-25-2011, 03:49 PM
Another link:

http://www.reefsanctuary.com/forums/fish-diseases-treatments/23131-hyposalinity-treatment-process.html

Google is your friend

Nano
11-25-2011, 03:51 PM