PDA

View Full Version : Would like your expert opinion please!

reefgirl189
11-25-2011, 12:59 PM
Hello everyone.

I've got 12 years FW experience and am looking to jump into reefkeeping. Of course the costs of starting up brand new are high so I am looking for a gently used and well started system. I found this one:

http://reddeer.kijiji.ca/c-pets-other-pets-for-sale-Reef-tank-W0QQAdIdZ327414515

I'm very interested in it. The gentleman selling it says it IS NOT run off of a sump though. It comes with Metal Hallides, the whole shebang. It's been up and running for 4 years and is well established, the corals are healthy and growing and the livestock are happy.

So my question is:

Would you recommend this for a first time reefer? Or should I start from the ground up? I got a quote from Bow Valley aquatics (I know, I know... but I have time and patience on my side) and was also thinking of going that route.

Is it better to start from ground up little by little or do a big, complex move with a fully stocked enormous aquarium?

Also can you guys help me identify some of the corals in this tank?

Thanks!

SeaHorse_Fanatic
11-25-2011, 01:08 PM
For a tank that size and $3000, it really should be reef-ready with a big sump. In terms of corals, its almost all softies. Big one up top-middle is a toadstool leather. There are huge masses of waving hand anthelia (weed-type soft coral on the bottom). The rest are mainly zoas, palys, and different leather corals.

NOT worth buying IMO.

Look on Canreef. You can probably find a much nicer setup for much cheaper with sump, skimmer, lights, etc. and nicer corals (LPS and SPS - ie. hard corals) as opposed to the soft corals in this setup. Great for newbies, but not for $3000. Softies are much more forgiving, but without a sump, not reef-ready and just softies, the system is totally a rip-off.

Anthony

Aquattro
11-25-2011, 01:52 PM