PDA

View Full Version : New 55 gallon

Mitch256
11-23-2011, 11:45 PM
Hey everyone!

I've been keeping freshwater fish for a couple of years. Now, next month I'm buying a new 55Gal. From my LFS and want to start getting into marine fish. I've never had a saltwater aqaurium before, so I'm hoping you guys an give me as much advice as possible! I've been reading as much on here and various other websites as possible, and want to take my time and do it slowly so that I do it right. I'm sure Ill make some mistakes along the way, but would like to cause as little stress on the living creatures as possible.

I'm still not %100 sure where I would start with a reef tank, that's why I've come to you guys for help before I start! Any help and advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Mitch

Nano
11-23-2011, 11:53 PM
A few things you need to spend good money on
Tank
Lights
Filtration
Water<---Super important.
I started my tank with half live rock and half dry rock to keep costs down, as well as half live sand and half non live sand, there are certain place (or so I've been told) that you can cut corners

daniella3d
11-23-2011, 11:56 PM
The best advise I can give you is to buy good quality porous liverock, not something heavy and dense. Porous liverock like Totoka or similar will give you a much better filtration as deep inside the rock there is anaerobic filtration going on that you won't see in dense liverock.

It's the base of any saltwater system and an important one.

Next advise is to buy a quarantine tank and quarantine all the fish for a month. When I get a new fish I give it an hour dip in Paraguard, then I put it in quarantine for 4 weeks and if there is no sign of anything bad I transfer it in the main tank, if there is something then I can treat the fish easily.

MOst people skip that step and endure sick fish with ich at the slightest sign of stress. It's very anoying.

Hey everyone!